Plainfield Trash Facts

Update Public hearing on Petition 1719: Thursday, October 22, 2026, by Zoom. Evidentiary session 2:00 pm, public comment session 6:30 pm. Sign up to speak by October 21. Written comments run to 30 days after the hearing record closes. Where it stands →

Frequently asked questions

Plainfield Trash Plant: Frequently Asked Questions

Short, self-contained answers to the questions people actually ask about the proposed Plainfield trash plant. Factual and technical answers are footnoted to official and scientific sources; news is cited only as support. Where the evidence is genuinely mixed, this page says so.

The Plainfield trash plant is a proposed waste-to-energy gasification facility from SMART Technology Systems, on about 81 acres in a residential zone off Routes 12 and 14.39 The developer’s own filing with CT DEEP describes gasification of refuse-derived fuel into a synthesis gas;11 independent reporting puts the throughput at roughly 1,800 tons of trash a day.36 State permit applications have been filed; it remains a proposal under active review by state agencies, no final permit decision has been issued, and no DEEP comment window has opened. A Siting Council public comment window is open in Petition No. 1719; after granting a hearing on September 3, the Council wrote on September 4 that written comments may be submitted within 30 days of the close of the evidentiary record.4744

The basics

What is proposed, and who is behind it

What is the Plainfield trash plant?

It is a proposed waste-to-energy gasification facility that would take in municipal trash, convert it to a synthetic gas to generate electricity, and produce ash and other residues — the technology described in the developer’s own filing on the state regulatory record.11 The site is about 81 acres at Norwich Road and Black Hill Road, in a residential zone;39 the throughput is the developer’s stated figure of roughly 1,800 tons of trash a day, reported in press coverage.36

Who is behind it?

The developer is SMART Technology Systems LLC, whose own response is on file with CT DEEP,11 and which press coverage describes as a partnership of the Connecticut construction and materials company O&G Industries and Advanced Waste Technologies International, using gasification equipment from the manufacturer Valmet.3638

How big is it, and how much trash would it take?

These are the developer’s own stated figures on the state regulatory record, where its filing sets out the gasification project and its scale:11 up to about 468,000 tons of trash a year, roughly 1,800 tons a day, and about 45 megawatts of electricity. Those daily-tonnage, annual-tonnage, and megawatt figures are corroborated in independent press coverage.3639

Where would it be built?

On an approximately 81-acre parcel at the intersection of Norwich Road and Black Hill Road, between Routes 12 and 14, in a part of Plainfield zoned residential. The location is documented both in the developer’s environmental-justice filing with CT DEEP and in independent reporting.339

The plant and the trucks

How it would work day to day

Is gasification the same as incineration?

No. Gasification is distinct from mass-burn incineration: it heats prepared waste with limited oxygen to produce a synthetic gas. The developer characterizes its process as gasification of refuse-derived fuel, followed by combustion of that synthesis gas.11 Regulatory treatment depends on the exact process, feedstock and jurisdiction; EU rules expressly address gasification whose resulting substances are burned, subject to a treatment-based exception, while EPA has examined U.S. Clean Air Act applicability case by case.26

What is in the residues and process water?

Gasification of carbonaceous waste produces fly ash, bottom ash or slag, and process wastewater. Peer-reviewed research on gasification wastewater has documented ammonia, cyanides, trace metals (including arsenic, chromium, cadmium, lead, and mercury), phenolics, benzene and other BTEX compounds, and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons; a technical review of waste gasification reaches similar conclusions about the toxicity of process residues.2526

How many trucks a day would it bring?

The developer’s own August 7, 2026 Siting Council petition states the facility would take “around 120 loads per weekday” at an average 1,800 tons a day and about 15 tons per delivery, with a maximum of 2,500 tons on a single day. A load is a delivery, so each is a truck arriving and later leaving.6 Plainfield’s Republican and Democratic town committees had earlier estimated “over 100 garbage trucks” a day, roughly 6 a.m. to 5 p.m.— an estimate the developer’s own filing confirms.38 A 2024 traffic study by SLR is filed with the petition as Exhibit N and concluded no significant traffic impacts are expected; we have not independently reviewed it.6

How much electricity would it produce?

About 45 megawatts, which the developer states would be sold onto the regional electric grid — the developer’s own figure on the state regulatory record,11 corroborated in press coverage.3639

Health, pollution, and your home

Health, pollution, and property values

Does living near it cause cancer?

The honest answer is that no study can promise a cancer outcome for any one household, and the epidemiology of people living near modern incinerators is genuinely mixed and mostly null. What is not in dispute is the hazard of the specific pollutants already documented in this kind of ash and wastewater. The dioxin class found in the residues is classified by the World Health Organization’s International Agency for Research on Cancer as a Group 1 (known) human carcinogen;19 so are arsenic and cadmium, two of the metals documented in the ash.20 The U.S. EPA assigns dioxin (TCDD) an oral reference dose of 7×10−10 mg/kg-day, one of the lowest (most potent) values in its IRIS database,21 and the CDC states there is no known safe blood-lead level in children.22 Separately, the long-term fine-particle (PM2.5) evidence is consistent: the 35-year Harvard Six Cities follow-up found each 10 µg/m³ of PM2.5 associated with about 14% higher all-cause and 37% higher lung-cancer mortality, with no safe floor identified.27 On the near-plant epidemiology specifically, the most recent 2025 systematic review found a small but significant asthma association and isolated dioxin-linked cancer signals,28 while a 2022 meta-analysis found no significant pooled cancer excess for most sites.29 The UK Health Security Agency’s position is that modern regulated incinerators add little to local air pollution and show no clear evidence of cancer, respiratory, or birth-outcome effects — a view that rests largely on older-generation plants.23 We present both so the picture is complete: the pollutants are established hazards, and the near-plant disease evidence is real but unsettled.

Does gasification destroy PFAS (the “forever chemicals”)?

No. PFAS are built around carbon–fluorine bonds among the strongest in chemistry, and peer-reviewed work shows they are not reliably destroyed at the temperatures municipal-waste plants actually run. A 2022 critical review found that PFOA and PFOS begin breaking down at 350–450 °C but require sustained temperatures of at least about 1,000 °C for full mineralization; below that, products of incomplete combustion form, and typical municipal waste-to-energy combustors operate below that threshold.30 A 2023 study was the first to confirm PFAS in the flue gas of an operating waste-to-energy plant, as well as in its bottom ash, air-pollution-control residue, and treated process water — meaning PFAS leaves such plants by the stack and in the residues, not simply destroyed.31 A broader 2020 review concluded that none of the three disposal routes (landfill, wastewater, incineration) eliminates PFAS; each returns it or its breakdown products to another medium, a cyclical problem rather than a destruction solution.32

Will it hurt my property value?

Possibly, but the honest answer is a range, not a single number, because the effect depends heavily on the facility’s scale and type, the distance, and the local housing stock. The largest current synthesis of waste-site hedonic studies (83 studies, 727 estimates) found that hazardous or contaminated sites are strongly negative while non-hazardous sites show no average effect once publication bias is corrected — so “no measurable effect” is a real possibility for a lower-impact site.33 At the other end, a meta-analysis of landfills found high-volume sites (500+ tons/day, the scale class of this proposal) depress adjacent values by roughly 13.7% on average, declining with distance.34 Facility-type-matched work on three English incinerators found smaller reductions of about 0.4% to 1.3% of mean value once operational.35 Taken together, the defensible range is roughly 0.4% to 13.7% depending on scale, type, and distance, with the genuine caveat that some comparable sites show no measurable effect at all.

What the research says about home prices near waste sites

Peer-reviewed estimates of home-price impact; the effect depends on scale, facility type and distance.

High-volume disposal (500+ t/day) −13.7% Operating incinerators −0.4% to −1.3% Well-regulated non-hazardous sites no measurable effect 0% −15% home value

Magnitudes shown as bar lengths on a downward scale. Sources: high-volume landfills from Ready, Journal of Real Estate Research (2010) doi.org; incinerators from Rivas Casado et al., Waste Management (2017) doi.org; non-hazardous no-average-effect from Schutt, Environmental and Resource Economics (2021) doi.org.

Data
Peer-reviewed home-price impact near waste sites, by facility scale and type
Site typeHome-price impact
High-volume disposal (500+ tons/day)about −13.7%
Operating incineratorsabout −0.4% to −1.3%
Non-hazardous, well-regulated sitesno measurable average effect

Water and the land

What it could mean for water and the land

Could it affect the water?

Plainfield’s water comes from the ground. CT DEEP identifies stratified-drift deposits, like those in the Quinebaug River valley, as the state’s most productive aquifers. The state’s own Quinebaug Valley trout hatchery in Plainfield draws 1,290,816,000 gallons of groundwater a year from 12 wells, and the joint town-committee statement warned the area “faces significant risks of pollution to valuable underground water sources.”4138

Is the site on a protected aquifer?

No — and this is a point where the record needs to be stated precisely. CT DEEP’s official Aquifer Protection Area program maps four regulated APAs in Plainfield (Gallup, Hopeville Road, Plainfield, and Brooklyn), and none of them covers the Norwich Road / Black Hill Road site.13 A live point-in-polygon query against DEEP’s own GIS returns zero regulated Aquifer Protection Area at the site, with the nearest (Gallup) roughly 500 to 1,000 meters away.14 So the parcel is not inside a designated, state-protected aquifer, and we do not claim otherwise. The real water concern is different and still substantial: Plainfield relies on groundwater — public supply wells and private household wells — drawn from the productive Quinebaug-valley stratified-drift aquifer system that DEEP identifies as the state’s most productive,4 and the state’s Quinebaug Valley trout hatchery in Plainfield draws about 1.29 billion gallons of groundwater a year from that system.1 The risk is to the groundwater the community depends on, not to a formally designated protection area on the parcel.

Does Plainfield already have a groundwater contamination site?

Yes. Gallup’s Quarry, a 29-acre former gravel pit in Plainfield where chemical wastes were dumped without a permit in the 1970s, is a federal Superfund site. The EPA lists contaminants there including volatile organic compounds, PCBs, heavy metals, 1,4-dioxane, arsenic, and PFAS, with institutional controls restricting groundwater use and monitoring continuing today.2

Is there a bald eagle on the site?

We can’t say, and neither can anyone relying only on public records. What the official record does show is that the site falls within a state-mapped listed-species area: a live query against CT DEEP’s current Natural Diversity Data Base returns an active NDDB Area polygon at the site (mapped June 2026), meaning a listed species or a significant natural community is known to occur there.15 But DEEP deliberately masks the identity of the species on all of its public products — exact locations and species names are hidden, and only a formal DEEP Environmental Review Request can reveal what is present.16 So the accurate statement is this: the site is within a state-mapped listed-species area; the species is not publicly disclosed, and no official record confirms bald eagle specifically. We neither assert nor debunk the bald-eagle claim.

Is the site in an environmental-justice area?

Yes, on two levels. First, the whole town qualifies: a live query of CT DEEP’s Environmental Justice 2025 data set shows Plainfield is one of only 37 Connecticut municipalities on the 2025 distressed-municipality list with no grace period, which makes the entire town an environmental-justice community under Connecticut’s EJ statute (CGS 22a-20a).17 Second, the census tracts and block groups encompassing the project area carry elevated pollution and low-income burdens: three block groups exceed the 30% low-income threshold (up to 44.5% of residents below 200% of the federal poverty level in one),17 and CDC/ATSDR’s Environmental Justice Index places the surrounding tracts around the 58th to 75th percentile nationally for environmental burden.18 Consistent with this, SMART filed an Environmental Justice Public Participation Plan with CT DEEP, which DEEP approved on June 23, 2025 (approval letter); the plan sets out the public-participation steps the developer committed to in the DEEP permit process.312 Because no public parcel-boundary service exists to pin the exact 81-acre boundary, the tract and block-group figures are for the census areas encompassing the project location.

Approvals and votes

Permits, votes, and timeline

What approvals would it actually need?

At roughly 45 megawatts the plant exceeds the 25-megawatt cogeneration threshold in the state siting statute, which is why a Certificate of Environmental Compatibility and Public Need has been treated as the applicable Siting Council route; SMART has instead filed Petition No. 1719 seeking a declaratory ruling, and on October 1, 2026 the Council denied the Town’s motion to require a Certificate proceeding, finding the petition properly filed under CGS 16-50k(a); DEEP air and solid-waste permits are required either way.53 Separately, for specified solid-waste facility categories, CGS 22a-208d bars a DEEP permit without a prior written determination that the facility is necessary for the state’s disposal needs and will not create substantial excess capacity; whether that provision applies here depends on DEEP’s classification of the configuration, which the public record reviewed here does not yet resolve.91036

What stage is it at in the permit process?

SMART has two applications on file with DEEP, which the agency describes as in preliminary staff review. At the Connecticut Siting Council, SMART has filed Petition No. 1719 seeking a declaratory ruling rather than applying for a Certificate; in that track a public hearing is not required by law, and on September 3, 2026 the Council granted the requests for one, confirmed in its letter of September 4, 2026, and on September 17, 2026 noticed the hearing for October 22, 2026, by Zoom, with an evidentiary session at 2:00 pm and a public comment session at 6:30 pm.4649 The DEEP public comment window has not opened. Written comments to the Siting Council may now be submitted within 30 days of the close of the evidentiary record; under the revised schedule of September 17, 2026, requests for party or intervenor status are due October 15, 2026, with a final decision due by February 3, 2027 unless the parties agree to the extension to August 2, 2027 that the Council has asked for.47505144 It remains a proposal under active review by state agencies; no final permit decision has been issued.24376

Did the town vote on it?

Yes. In a June 2025 non-binding referendum, Plainfield voted 1,148 to 125 against the plant. The vote does not bind the state, which holds permitting authority.38

If the town voted no, why can it still move forward?

Because state agencies, not towns, decide these permits. In 2025 the legislature passed House Bill 7004, which would have let towns of up to 16,000 residents challenge certain DEEP permit approvals by referendum. Governor Lamont vetoed it on July 8, 2025.840

When would it open?

The developer’s own project schedule, filed with the August 2026 petition, gives commercial operation as 31 March 2031, with construction starting July 2027 and an in-service date of 30 September 2030. Earlier reporting had said “not before 2028.”43 Manager Bill Corvo said the company does not “anticipate going operational much before 2028,” estimating roughly a year to obtain permits and a couple of years to build.36

Taking action

What residents can do

How can I oppose it?

Two things are open now. First, the Connecticut Siting Council is taking written comments on Petition No. 1719, filed August 7, 2026; on September 3, 2026 the Council granted the requests for a public hearing, confirmed in writing September 4, and said written comments may be submitted within 30 days of the close of the evidentiary record. The hearing is set for October 22, 2026, by Zoom: an evidentiary session at 2:00 pm and a public comment session at 6:30 pm, with advance sign-up to speak by October 21; requests for party or intervenor status are due October 15, 2026. Second, when DEEP issues a notice of tentative determination it opens a separate public comment window, and under Public Act 25-84 a petition signed by at least 25 persons, showing that a signatory’s legal rights may be affected, can ask DEEP to hold a hearing. Any person may also intervene in the administrative proceeding on environmental grounds under state law. See Take Action for the current steps and addresses.46474950445712

When is the Siting Council’s public hearing?

Thursday, October 22, 2026, by Zoom. The Council’s notice of September 17, 2026 sets an evidentiary session at 2:00 pm, at which the petitioner, parties and intervenors cross-examine and no public comment is taken, and a public comment session at 6:30 pm, at which members of the public may make statements of up to three minutes and the petitioner presents an overview of the facility. To speak at 6:30 pm you must sign up by October 21, 2026: email siting.council@ct.gov with your name, email address and mailing address, or leave a voicemail at 860-827-2935 with your name, telephone number and mailing address. Written comments may be sent by email or regular mail up to 30 days after the evidentiary record closes and, per the Council’s instructions, carry the same weight as spoken ones. Requests for party or intervenor status and pre-filed testimony are due October 15, 2026. The Council will post a transcript and deposit a copy at the Plainfield Town Clerk’s Office.4950

Has a plant like this ever been stopped?

Yes. The Killingly gas power plant in eastern Connecticut was never built after it was dropped from ISO New England’s capacity auction over missed federal deadlines. And the MIRA trash-burning plant in Hartford ceased combustion in July 2022 as its economics collapsed. Neither was stopped by a town referendum.4142

Sources

Where These Answers Come From

Official & regulatory sources

  1. Connecticut DAS and DEEP, “DAS and DEEP Announce Improvement to Quinebaug Trout Hatchery” — the Plainfield hatchery draws 1,290,816,000 gallons of groundwater a year from 12 high-volume wells, and the state project will “significantly reduc[e] the stress on the aquifer.” portal.ct.gov/das
  2. U.S. EPA, Superfund site profile: Gallup’s Quarry, Plainfield, CT — a 29-acre National Priorities List site from 1970s unpermitted chemical dumping; contaminants include VOCs, PCBs, heavy metals, 1,4-dioxane, arsenic, and PFAS, with institutional controls and ongoing monitoring. cumulis.epa.gov
  3. CT DEEP, Environmental Justice Public Participation Plan on file for SMART Technology Systems LLC, Norwich Road / Black Hill Road, Plainfield — official DEEP-hosted filing establishing the project location and that the state is handling the site as an environmental-justice community under CGS 22a-20a. Read the archived document and transcript
  4. CT DEEP, “Connecticut’s Aquifers” — stratified-drift deposits are the state’s “most productive aquifers” capable of large public-supply yields, while bedrock formations typically yield only enough for individual domestic wells. portal.ct.gov/deep
  5. CT DEEP Office of Adjudications, “Public Act 25-84 and Initiating the Hearing Process” — a hearing petition must be signed by at least 25 persons and show that a signatory’s legal rights, duties, or privileges may be affected. portal.ct.gov/deep
  6. Connecticut Siting Council, Applications and Other Pending Matters — lists Petition No. 1719, SMART Technology Systems, LLC, a petition for a declaratory ruling under CGS §4-176 and §16-50k for a 45-megawatt trash-to-energy facility on six O&G Industries parcels east of Black Hill Road, Plainfield. No Certificate application for this project is listed; the other Plainfield matter, Docket 550, is an unrelated solar project. The Council’s own citizens guide for petition proceedings states that within sixty days of receiving a petition the Council “may” decide to hold a public hearing but that “a public hearing is not required by law.” portal.ct.gov/CSC · citizens guide (PDF)
  7. Connecticut Siting Council, “Public Hearing Participation” — how residents apply for party or intervenor status and take part in evidentiary and public-comment hearings. portal.ct.gov/CSC
  8. Connecticut General Assembly, House Bill 7004 (2025), “An Act Authorizing Municipal Referenda to Challenge Certain Permit Approvals” — bill status and history show passage of both chambers and a gubernatorial veto on July 8, 2025. cga.ct.gov
  9. Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 277a (Public Utility Environmental Standards Act), sections 16-50i and 16-50k — an electric generating facility requires a Certificate of Environmental Compatibility and Public Need; the cogeneration exemption applies only at 25 megawatts or less. cga.ct.gov
  10. Connecticut General Statutes, current Chapter 446d, sections 22a-208a and 22a-208d. Section 22a-208a requires a DEEP permit for a solid-waste facility; section 22a-208d applies a written need determination to specified facility categories. The chapter separately defines resources-recovery and waste-conversion facilities, so classification of a specific proposal matters. cga.ct.gov
  11. SMART Technology Systems, LLC, “Public Response” to the CT DEEP Materials Management Infrastructure Request for Information (official DEEP-hosted PDF) — the developer’s own filing on the state regulatory record. It states that its facility would use gasification of refuse-derived fuel to produce a synthesis gas and Class I baseload electricity, with carbon-capture and beneficial reuse of ash residues; it establishes SMART Technology Systems as the project developer and describes the technology it proposes. The public copy has confidential material (including detailed capacity figures) redacted; the daily/annual tonnage and megawatt figures are corroborated in press coverage (sources 36 and 39). Read the archived document and transcript
  12. Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 439, sections 22a-20a and 22a-19 — section 22a-20a requires a meaningful public-participation process for a facility that would affect an environmental-justice community and authorizes DEEP to withhold a permit under specified conditions; section 22a-19 allows any person to intervene in an administrative proceeding on environmental grounds. cga.ct.gov
  13. CT DEEP / CT ECO, Aquifer Protection Areas map, Plainfield — the town’s four regulated APAs are Gallup (No. 78), Hopeville Road (No. 84), Plainfield (No. 71), and Brooklyn (No. 68); none covers the Norwich Road / Black Hill Road site. Official map dated April 2026. Read the archived document and transcript
  14. CT DEEP, Aquifer Protection Areas ArcGIS feature service — a live point-in-polygon query at the geocoded site (41.7084, −71.9396) returns zero intersecting Aquifer Protection Area; a 500 m buffer returns zero; a 1,000 m buffer returns exactly one (Gallup No. 78). The nearest regulated APA is ~500–1,000 m away, not on the site. services1.arcgis.com
  15. CT DEEP, Natural Diversity Data Base Areas map, Plainfield — the site falls within a DEEP-mapped NDDB Area (a known listed-species or significant-natural-community location); confirmed by live query (OBJECTID 21875, map date June 2026). Species identity is not disclosed. Read the archived document and transcript
  16. CT DEEP / CT ECO, Natural Diversity Database Areas Resource Guide — states DEEP policy verbatim that “exact locations and species names have been masked” on public products; a site-specific species determination requires a formal Environmental Review Request, the only mechanism that could confirm or deny bald eagle. cteco.uconn.edu
  17. CT DEEP, Environmental Justice 2025 Set (block groups + distressed municipalities), ArcGIS — live query: Plainfield is one of only 37 Connecticut municipalities on the 2025 distressed list with no grace period, making the whole town an EJ community under CGS 22a-20a(a); three block groups exceed the 30% low-income threshold (BG1 Tract 9073 at 43.1% below 200% FPL, BG3 Tract 9071 at 44.5%, BG3 Tract 9073 at 37.0%). geodata.ct.gov (CTDEEP Environmental-Justice-2025-Set)
  18. CDC/ATSDR, Environmental Justice Index (EJI), 2024 update — live query: the census tracts encompassing the project area rank about the 58th to 75th percentile nationally for environmental burden (Tract 9072 environmental-burden 75.4th pct; Tract 9073 64.5th; Tract 9071 57th). First national-percentile comparison and a live substitute for the removed EPA EJScreen. atsdr.cdc.gov
  19. International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC/WHO), Monographs Vol. 69 — classifies 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-para-dioxin (the dioxin class documented in the ash and wastewater) as Group 1, carcinogenic to humans. publications.iarc.who.int (Vol 69)
  20. International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC/WHO), Monographs Vol. 100C: Arsenic, Metals, Fibres, and Dusts — classifies arsenic and cadmium (and their compounds) as Group 1, carcinogenic to humans. publications.iarc.who.int (Vol 100C)
  21. U.S. EPA, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), TCDD (CASRN 1746-01-6) — EPA oral reference dose for TCDD is 7×10−10 mg/kg-day, one of the lowest (most potent) RfDs in IRIS, based on sperm and neonatal thyroid effects. iris.epa.gov
  22. CDC, “Update of the Blood Lead Reference Value — United States, 2021” (MMWR) — CDC lowered the blood-lead reference value from 5.0 to 3.5 µg/dL in children and states there is no known safe blood-lead level. DOI 10.15585/mmwr.mm7043a4. cdc.gov/mmwr
  23. UK Health Security Agency, “Municipal waste incinerators: emissions impact on health” — countervailing official position that modern, well-run, regulated incinerators add little to local air pollution and that there is no clear evidence of associations with cancer, respiratory disease, or adverse birth outcomes; the evidence base is largely older-generation plants. gov.uk
  24. CT DEEP, Office of Adjudications, letter of August 29, 2025, re: “Petition for Hearing and Motions for Intervention, Application Nos. 202503132 & 202503134” — the agency’s own record: two DEEP applications submitted by TRC Environmental Corporation on behalf of SMART, “still undergoing preliminary review by staff,” no Notice of Tentative Determination issued, and the Town of Plainfield granted intervening party status under RCSA 22a-3a-6(k) and CGS 22a-19. Hosted by the Town of Plainfield. Read the document and transcript

Scientific & technical studies

  1. Water, Air, & Soil Pollution (peer-reviewed), study of gasification wastewater via U.S. National Library of Medicine (PMC) — gasification process water contains ammonia, cyanides, sulfates, trace metals (As, Cr, Cd, Pb, Hg and others), phenolics, benzene and other BTEX compounds, and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons that pose a long-term threat to underground water. pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  2. U.S. EPA, “Advance Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on Pyrolysis and Gasification Units” (2021), and the European Union Industrial Emissions Directive as amended in 2024. EPA’s notice examines Clean Air Act section 129 applicability without announcing a blanket classification; EU rules include gasification when resulting substances are subsequently incinerated, subject to a treatment-based exception. epa.gov · eur-lex.europa.eu
  3. Lepeule, Laden, Dockery, Schwartz, “Chronic Exposure to Fine Particles and Mortality: an Extended Follow-up of the Harvard Six Cities Study” (Environmental Health Perspectives, 2012) — each 10 µg/m³ increase in PM2.5 was associated with +14% all-cause, +26% cardiovascular, and +37% lung-cancer mortality, with the association holding below 18 µg/m³ and no safe floor found. DOI 10.1289/ehp.1104660. doi.org
  4. Bottini et al., “Residential exposure to municipal solid waste incinerators and health effects: a systematic review with meta-analysis” (BMC Public Health, 2025) — the most current synthesis: a significant asthma association (HR 1.02 per 1 ng/m³ PM10) plus isolated dioxin-linked signals (one French study 2.3× non-Hodgkin lymphoma at higher dioxin exposure; one Italian study leukemia OR 4.12 at high PCDD/F); birth and reproductive evidence inconsistent. DOI 10.1186/s12889-025-23150-z. doi.org
  5. Baek, Park, Kwak, “A meta-analysis of the relationship between waste incinerator emissions and cancer risk” (Epidemiology and Health, 2022) — across 11 studies, no significant pooled excess for breast, colorectal, liver, lung, lymphohematopoietic, stomach, bladder, CNS, or all cancers (pooled RR 1.00, CI 0.94–1.06); the one exception was female laryngeal cancer (RR 1.82). Cited for honest balance. DOI 10.4178/epih.e2022070. doi.org
  6. “A Critical Review of Thermal Decomposition of Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances” (Environmental Science & Technology, 2022) — PFOA/PFOS begin decomposing at 350–450 °C but full mineralization requires at least about 1,000 °C; below that, products of incomplete combustion (of unknown toxicity) form, and typical MSW waste-to-energy combustors run below 1,000 °C. DOI 10.1021/acs.est.2c02251. doi.org
  7. “Emission of Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances from a Waste-to-Energy Plant” (Environmental Science & Technology, 2023) — first confirmed observation of PFAS in WTE flue gas (4.0–5.6 ng/m³ normal, up to 27 with sludge co-firing), and also in bottom ash, air-pollution-control residue, and treated process water; total release 7–20 g/yr. PFAS is emitted via the stack, not only in ash and water. DOI 10.1021/acs.est.2c08960. doi.org
  8. Stoiber, Evans, Naidenko, “Disposal of products and materials containing PFAS: A cyclical problem” (Chemosphere, 2020) — none of the three disposal routes (landfill, wastewater treatment, incineration) eliminates PFAS; each returns it or its breakdown products to another medium, a cyclical problem rather than a destruction solution. DOI 10.1016/j.chemosphere.2020.127659. doi.org
  9. Schutt, “Systematic Variation in Waste Site Effects on Residential Property Values” (Environmental and Resource Economics, 2021) — largest synthesis (83 studies, 727 estimates): hazardous/contaminated sites strongly negative, non-hazardous sites no average effect; correcting for publication bias cuts older effect sizes by up to 38%. Supplies the calibrating, non-overstated range. DOI 10.1007/s10640-021-00536-2. doi.org
  10. Ready, “Do Landfills Always Depress Nearby Property Values?” (Journal of Real Estate Research, 2010) — meta-analysis: high-volume landfills (500+ tons/day, the scale class of this proposal) depress adjacent values by ~13.7% on average, declining 5.9 points per mile; low-volume landfills ~2.7%, and 20–26% of studies show no measurable effect. DOI 10.1080/10835547.2010.12091279. doi.org
  11. Rivas Casado et al., “Monetising the impacts of waste incinerators sited on brownfield land using the hedonic pricing method” (Waste Management, 2017) — facility-type-matched: three English incinerators reduced local house prices by about 0.4% to 1.3% of mean value once operational, varying by distance and prior brownfield status. DOI 10.1016/j.wasman.2016.10.036. doi.org

News coverage

  1. Norwich Bulletin via Yahoo News, “Plant to convert trash to gas, electricity to be pitched in Plainfield” — Valmet gasification, up to 468,000 tons/year, roughly 1,800 tons/day, ~45 MW, earliest operation about 2028; Bill Corvo quote. yahoo.com
  2. Norwich Bulletin via AOL, “Here’s the status of the proposed trash-to-energy plant in Plainfield” — DEEP air permit and solid waste plan filed; Siting Council application not yet filed; town permits planned later in 2026. AOL syndication link no longer live; checked September 3, 2026
  3. Hartford Courant via Government Technology, “Connecticut Residents Object to Plans for High-Tech Trash Plant” — referendum 1,148–125 (non-binding); developer partnership; joint town-committee statement estimating 100+ trucks 6 a.m.–5 p.m. and risks to underground water sources. govtech.com
  4. Foundation for Fair Contracting of CT, “Plainfield opposing plans for a trash to energy plant in a residential zone” — 81-acre parcel at Norwich Road and Black Hill Road in a residential zone, ~45 MW. ffcct.org
  5. CT Mirror, “Lamont finishes review of 2025 bills with a veto” — HB 7004 vetoed July 8, 2025; the bill was tied to the Plainfield proposal. ctmirror.org
  6. CT Mirror, “Killingly gas power plant … ISO-New England auction … FERC” — the Killingly plant was never built after being removed from the ISO-NE capacity auction over missed federal deadlines. ctmirror.org
  7. Connecticut Public, “After months of debate, Hartford trash-burning plant now officially closed” — the MIRA incinerator ceased combustion on July 19, 2022. ctpublic.org
  8. SMART Technology Systems, LLC, Proposed Project Schedule, filed as Exhibit C to Connecticut Siting Council Petition No. 1719 (Primavera schedule generated 11 March 2026; the developer’s own planning document). Gives construction start 1 July 2027, substantial completion 30 June 2030, in-service date 30 September 2030 and commercial operation 31 March 2031.
  9. Connecticut Siting Council, Schedule, Petition No. 1719 (petition received August 7, 2026), and Council correspondence of August 10, 2026. The Schedule sets: Public Comment Period Deadline September 6, 2026; Deadline for State Agency Comments September 6, 2026; Deadline for Municipal Comments September 6, 2026; Deadline to Request Party or Intervenor Status September 6, 2026; Deadline for Action October 6, 2026; Deadline for Final Decision February 3, 2027. The correspondence comprises a letter from Executive Director Melanie A. Bachman to the Town of Plainfield’s First Selectperson confirming notice under RCSA §16-50j-40 and inviting written comments by September 6, 2026; a memorandum soliciting written comments from fifteen state officials across fourteen state agencies and offices (including DEEP, DPH, PURA, DOT, the State Historic Preservation Office and the Council on Environmental Quality) by the same date; and the service list of August 10, 2026, which shows the petitioner as the only listed participant. schedule (PDF) · town letter (PDF) · state agency memo (PDF) · service list (PDF)
  10. First Selectman Kevin M. Cunningham, Town of Plainfield, in a written account sent the same day of the Connecticut Siting Council meeting of September 3, 2026, which he attended by Zoom with the Town’s attorney, Ann Catino. Establishes that the Council granted the requests for a public hearing on Petition No. 1719, that the requests “were granted with little commentary,” and that dates were not discussed and would be set by staff. The three members’ remarks are relayed in the account as Attorney Catino’s report; the rest is the First Selectman’s own account. Attorney Catino practices environmental and land use law at Halloran & Sage (halloransage.com). A participant account, since confirmed by the Council’s letters of September 4, 2026, which record the grant; as of the evening of September 3 the Council had published no hearing notice, revised schedule or decision in the petition file. Read the account and download the original.
  11. Connecticut Siting Council (Melanie A. Bachman, Executive Director) to the Service List, letter of September 4, 2026, “CGS §4-176 Deadline for Action – Requests for Public Hearing”: “During a regular meeting of the Connecticut Siting Council (Council) held on September 3, 2026, the Council granted the Requests for a Public Hearing submitted for the above-referenced petition for a declaratory ruling. A schedule for the public hearing will be developed and publicly noticed in compliance with Connecticut General Statutes (CGS) §4-177(b).” The Council’s own written record of the decision. portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)
  12. Connecticut Siting Council (Melanie A. Bachman) to Ann M. Catino, Alan P. Curto and Richard Roberts, Halloran Sage LLP, counsel for the Town of Plainfield, letter of September 4, 2026 (35 pages with enclosures): “During a regular meeting held on September 3, 2026, the Council voted to hold a public hearing on this matter. A schedule for the public hearing will be developed and publicly noticed in compliance with Connecticut General Statutes (CGS) §4-177(b). The Council’s vote to hold a public hearing rendered the Town’s request for an extension of the public comment period deadline moot. Written comments from any interested person may be submitted within 30 days of the close of the evidentiary record.” Places the Town’s request for party/intervenor status and CEPA intervenor status on the September 17, 2026 agenda and its request for a Certificate proceeding and motion to dismiss on the October 1, 2026 agenda. portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)
  13. Connecticut Siting Council (Melanie Bachman, Executive Director), notice and agenda of the Regular Energy/Telecommunications Meeting of Thursday, September 17, 2026, 1:00 p.m., by Zoom, issued September 10, 2026. Item 10 is Petition No. 1719: “Schedule. Request for Party/Intervenor Status and CEPA Intervenor Status.” Item 1 is the minutes of September 3, 2026. The notice states that “the draft documents related to the agenda items will be available to view on-line” under the Council’s Meetings and Minutes tab; none for this petition had appeared there as of September 10. Meeting ID 868 2595 8246; dial-in +1 929 205 6099. portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)
  14. Connecticut Siting Council, Hearing Notice, Petition No. 1719, dated September 17, 2026: the Council “will conduct a public hearing via Zoom remote conferencing on October 22, 2026, beginning with an evidentiary session at 2:00 p.m., and continuing with a public comment session at 6:30 p.m.” The purpose is “to receive evidence on the petitioner’s assertions that the construction, operation, and maintenance of the facility will not have a substantial adverse environmental effect.” “No public comments will be received during the 2:00 p.m. evidentiary session”; the 6:30 p.m. session “will be reserved for the public to make brief statements into the record. Public statements are limited to 3 minutes,” and the petitioner will present an overview of the facility during it. To speak, email siting.council@ct.gov with name, email address and mailing address, or leave a voicemail at 860-827-2935 with name, telephone number and mailing address, by October 21, 2026. Testimony and exhibits to be pre-filed, and any request for party or intervenor status filed, by October 15, 2026. Parties and intervenors may file briefs within 30 days after the close of the evidentiary record; any person who is not a party or intervenor may file a written statement in the same 30 days, after which nothing is accepted “except as otherwise prescribed by law or the Council.” A verbatim transcript will be posted on the Council’s website and deposited in the Plainfield Town Clerk’s Office. Zoom meeting ID 881 1968 8929, passcode 7eb4nX; dial-in 1 (929) 205-6099, telephone passcode 106620. portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)
  15. Connecticut Siting Council, Revised Schedule, Petition No. 1719, revised September 17, 2026 (an earlier revision of September 14, 2026 carried the same dates with the hearing still to be determined): petition received August 7, 2026; Council 60-day action, hold public hearing, September 3, 2026; Council interrogatories issued September 14, responses due October 5, 2026 (extended on October 1 to October 15); pre-hearing conference via Zoom, 11:00 a.m., September 30, 2026; deadline for exchange of interrogatories between parties and intervenors October 1, 2026; deadlines for state agency comments, municipal comments, pre-filed testimony and responses to interrogatories, and requests for party or intervenor status all October 15, 2026; public hearing, 2:00 p.m. evidentiary session and 6:30 p.m. public comment session via Zoom, October 22, 2026; continued evidentiary sessions “if necessary,” close of the evidentiary record, post-hearing briefs and proposed findings of fact, close of the public comment period, draft findings of fact and draft opinion, decision and order all “TBD”; deadline for final decision February 3, 2027. portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)
  16. Connecticut Siting Council (Melanie Bachman, Executive Director) to Ann M. Catino, Alan P. Curto and Richard Roberts, Halloran Sage LLP, counsel for the Town of Plainfield, letter of September 17, 2026, “Town of Plainfield Request for Party/Intervenor Status and CEPA Intervenor Status”: “In response to your request of September 2, 2026, during a regular meeting held on September 17, 2026, pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes (CGS) §4-177a, §16-50n, and §22a-19, the Connecticut Siting Council (Council) granted party status and CEPA Intervenor status in Petition No. 1719 to the Town of Plainfield with the condition that in accordance with CGS §4-176(i), the Town of Plainfield submit written agreement to extend the final decision deadline in this proceeding to August 2, 2027 to the Council and the service list no later than September 24, 2026.” Encloses the Council’s Information Guide to Party and Intervenor Status. The service list of September 17, 2026 lists the Town of Plainfield as “Party and CEPA Intervenor (granted 09/17/26).” portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)
  17. Connecticut Siting Council, Revised Schedule, Petition No. 1719, revised October 1, 2026 (earlier revisions of September 18 and September 24 added the Council’s interrogatories to the Town, due October 9, and the August 2, 2027 extended decision deadline). Council interrogatories to SMART: issued September 14, responses due October 5, “responses due w/ extension” October 15, 2026; Council interrogatories to the Town: issued September 18, responses due October 9, with extension October 15, 2026; pre-hearing conference September 30; exchange of interrogatories among parties and intervenors October 1; state agency comments, municipal comments, pre-filed testimony and responses to interrogatories, and requests for party or intervenor status all October 15; public hearing October 22 (2:00 pm evidentiary, 6:30 pm public comment); continued sessions, close of record, briefs, close of comment period and draft findings TBD; deadline for final decision February 3, 2027; “Extension of Deadline for Final Decision Pursuant to CGS §4-176(i) with agreement from Parties and Intervenors 08/02/2027.” portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)
  18. Connecticut Siting Council (Melanie A. Bachman, Executive Director) to Ann M. Catino, Alan P. Curto and Richard Roberts, Halloran Sage LLP, counsel for the Town of Plainfield, letter of October 2, 2026, with the staff report of October 1, 2026 (8 pages): “At a regular meeting held on October 1, 2026, the Connecticut Siting Council (Council) denied the Town of Plainfield’s September 2, 2026 Request for a Certificate Proceeding and Motion to Dismiss in the above-referenced matter, on the basis that the proposed trash-to-energy electric generating facility was properly filed as a petition for a declaratory ruling under CGS §16-50k(a) and the petition for a declaratory ruling is sufficient under environmental justice statutes.” The staff report reasons that complexity “does not dictate” the route, that “legislative changes to CGS §16-50k(a) since 1990 require the Council to approve certain electric generating facilities by declaratory ruling,” including distributed resource facilities of 65 MW or less using renewable sources “such as anaerobic digestion and trash”; that a DEEP air- and water-quality determination “is not a prerequisite” to evaluating a petition (citing FairwindCT v. Siting Council, 2014); that the Town’s reading of Not Another Power Plant “ignores the context”; that under CGS 4-176(g) a hearing on a petition carries the contested-case rules on discovery, exhibits and cross-examination; that “the Council will balance the public benefit of the facility at the lowest reasonable cost to consumers with the effects on the environment and ecology of the state”; and, on environmental justice, that the Town “is an environmental justice community,” the plant “is an affecting facility,” and Exhibit Q’s June 23, 2025 DEEP approval of the public participation plan “is compliant with environmental justice statutes.” The letter does not record a vote count. portal.ct.gov/csc (PDF)

See the full evidence library →